The 14th Annual Vincent J. Dooley Scholarships Recipients and Finalists for school year 2020-2021

2020-2021 Dooley Scholarship recipients
(left to right) Dr. Robin Hines, Brad Catherman, Shemetria Risper, Andrew Correa, Vince Dooley

Ms. Shemetria Risper of Westside High School and Mr. Andrew Correa of First Presbyterian Day School have been named as the two recipients of the four-year scholarship of $1000 per year. These two recipients will also each receive $500 to donate to the charitable organization of their choice. Coach Vince Dooley and the GHSA Executive Director Dr. Robin Hines offered inspirational remarks during the ceremony held at the College Football Hall of Fame. Athletes for a Better World Executive Director Brad Catherman served as master of ceremonies, with Chairman of the Board Steve Petyerak in attendance to bestow the scholarships.

Shemetria Risper achieved a 3.7 grade point average at Westside High School while also achieving a Dean’s List 3.6 grade point average at Central Georgia Technical College, becoming the school’s only student in history to simultaneously obtain both degrees! Among her many academic accomplishments, she is the national High School Heisman Academic Award Winner, and a Coca-Cola Scholar Semifinalist. She was the Team Captain of the Cheerleading Team for three years. Her athletic accomplishments include the All American Award at the NCAA Camp at the University of Georgia. Off the field, she logged more than 400 hours of community service in the areas of elementary school tutoring, childhood cancer fundraising, Special Olympics, local food bank volunteerism, and much more.

Andrew Correa of First Presbyterian Day School achieved a 4.28 grade point average while taking 9 Advanced Placement courses. Among his many academic accomplishments, he is a member of Mu Alpha Theta, the United States mathematics organization for distinguished scholars. A First Team All-Region football player, he also excels in basketball and track & field. His versatile extracurricular accomplishments include earning the award for “Best Performance” in the school musical. Off the field, his community service work includes trips to Haiti and inner-city New Orleans, working with underprivileged children.

The Scholarship Finalists were:


Mary Beth CaldwellUnion Grove High School
Aidan CatheyAllatoona High School
Morgan JohnsonAquinas High School
Avery KemperFirst Presbyterian Day School
Athena MalekStephens County High School
Mary Anne McCordScreven County High School
Harmony NagleStratford Academy
Shemetria RisperWestside High School – Macon
Katelyn TaylorAcademy for Classical Education
Maurissa ThomasEast Jackson High School


Sean ByrneAllatoona High School
Caden PratherCallaway High School
Cole HastyCreekview High School
Gary RichardsonDutchtown High School
Andrew CorreaFirst Presbyterian Day School
Brendan O’SullivanForsyth Central High School
Max StarnesLyndon Academy
Jaylen MallettMarist School
Sam BowersNorthside High School
Ian Jackson DavisSocial Circle High School

Get The Book

Buy ABW’s complete book on developing character through sports Winning More Than The Game

FREE Tip of the Week Newsletter