The 10th Annual Vincent J. Dooley Awards and Scholarships Recipients for school year 2016-2017

Fred Northup, Anna Cates and Vince Dooley
Pictured: Fred Northup, Anna Cates and Vince Dooley
Fred Northup, Noah Shepard and Vince Dooley
Pictured: Fred Northup, Noah Shepard and Vince Dooley

Anna Katherine Cates of Darlington School, and Noah Shepard were named as the recipients of the four-year scholarship of $1000 per year by legendary Coach Vince Dooley on April 29, 2017 at a ceremony held at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.  Nearly 300 student-athletes and guests attended the event which featured inspirational messages from Coach Dooley, ABW Founder/President Fred Northup, and Atlanta Public Schools’ Assistant Director of Athletics Kandice Mitchell.  In attendance was last year’s speaker and special guest Carror Wright of the Georgia High School Association.  All enjoyed a breakfast meal, compliments of Chick-fil-A.  The Hudgens Family Foundation was once again the Presenting Sponsor for the event.

Ms. Cates distinguished herself on the field as a first team All-Region Soccer player while also captain of the Cheer squad, receiving the highest scholar-athlete award in both.  In the classroom, Anna Katherine is a member of the Cum Laude Society, National Honor Society, Math and Science Honor Society, Societe de Hispanica, numerous E.L. Wright Awards for highest average in a subject, and is a finalist for both the Stamps Presidential Scholarship at Georgia Tech, and the Morehead-Cain Scholarship at the University of North Carolina.  In the community, she is the founder of nonprofit Donate Health, collecting and shipping medical supplies to clinics in Guatemala, plus supports Rome Area Young Life and other volunteer activities.

Mr. Shepard carries a 3.97 GPA while excelling at soccer and football despite recovering from major back surgery for scoliosis.  Noah manages to volunteer significant time for Stop Hunger Now, Special Olympics, Hospice Care, YMCA soccer, Upward Basketball, Restoration Disaster Relief, and the Satilla River Clean Up.

The 2017 Scholarship Finalists were:


Anna Cates, Darlington School
Moriah Harris, Calvary Day School
Destinee Johnson, Ware County High School
Dorminy Johnson, Burke County High School
Kendall Nelson, Marist School
Julia Nichols, Tallulah Falls School
Allie Parkerson, First Presbyterian Day School
Tia Shorter, Archer High School
Parker Sylvester, Cambridge High School
Bailey Upton, Model High School


Bailey Brock, Winder-Barrow High School
Nathan Brown, Sandy Creek High School
Ethan Delashmit, Darlington School
William Hellier, Whitefield Academy
Rylan Lavery, Etowah High School
Ivan Martin, Chestatee High School
Noah Shepard, Ware County High School
Ethan Lamb, Tattnall County High School
Isaac May, West Forsyth High School
Keegan Woods, Callaway School

Congratulations to all 2017 Dooley Award recipients:

Name of SchoolName of Athlete
Adairsville High SchoolAddison Mealer
Adairsville High SchoolChad Lowery
Americus Sumter High SchoolEric Brown
Archer High SchoolEthan Cano
Archer High SchoolTia Shorter
Baconton Community Charter SchoolKim Wenzel
Baconton Community Charter SchoolAustin Redding
Baker County HighDevin Sheffield
Baker County HighGa’Lexius Downs
Banks County High SchoolDavis Day
Booker T. Washington High SchoolLauryn Taylor
Burke County High SchoolDorminy Johnson
Callaway High SchoolDori Cook
Callaway High SchoolKeegan Woods
Calvary Day SchoolRyan Mell
Calvary Day SchoolMoriah Harris
Cambridge High SchoolWill Britain
Cambridge High SchoolParker Sylvester
Chattahoochee County High SchoolErika Danielle Jackson
Chattahoochee County High SchoolJon Zachary Nixon
Chestatee High SchoolBecca Eddins
Chestatee High SchoolIvan Martin
Claxton High SchoolBlake Stroud
Clinch County High SchoolMahjabin Patrawala
Clinch County High SchoolBryce Ballance
Coffee High SchoolChiann Watson
Coffee High SchoolGarrett Southerland
Coretta Scott KingAngel Carter
Dalton High SchoolBowen Land
Dalton High SchoolMaddux Houghton
Darlington SchoolAnna Katherine Cates
Darlington SchoolEthan Mark Delashmit
East Jackson High SchoolRonan Atticus Veal
East Jackson High SchoolAlly Lee Petering
Etowah High SchoolRylan Lavery
Etowah High SchoolMacki Walsh
First Presbyterian Day SchoolAllie Parkerson
First Presbyterian Day SchoolAlan Carlton
Fitzgerald High SchoolShyann Dorough
Fitzgerald High SchoolJD King
Forsyth Central High SchoolKirbi Mathews
Forsyth Central High SchoolJosh Weihrauch
Gainesville High SchoolSydney F King
Gainesville High SchoolHunter Worley
Georgia Academy for the BlindNikita Duckworth
Greater Atlanta Adventist AcademyJasmyn Palmer
Greenbrier High SchoolMark Otstot
Greenbrier High SchoolCassidy Sigrist
Harrison High SchoolSydne Wiggins
Harrison High SchoolHarrison Deltac
Irwin County High SchoolNathan Tucker
Irwin County High SchoolRebecca Paulk
Jefferson County High SchoolBryant Arnold
Jefferson County High SchoolMorgan Williams
Jefferson High SchoolMaryanne Kilgore
Jefferson High SchoolAddison Cochran
Johnson CountyDani Josey
Johnson CountyMalik Pierce
Landmark Christian SchoolSeth Cruver
Landmark Christian SchoolTiffany Cooley
Lincoln County High SchoolTronyotta Hawes
Lincoln County High SchoolMitch Matthews
Long County High SchoolSavannah Dozier
Long County High SchoolJames Goober
Lovejoy High SchoolTre’mond Shorts
Lovejoy High SchoolAmber Thornton
Marion County High SchoolMadison McPherson
Marion County High SchoolRobert “Nathan” Moon
Marist SchoolMitchell Werntz
Marist SchoolKendall Nelson
Model High SchoolLuis Carroll
Model High SchoolBailey Upton
Mount Paran Christian SchoolSydney Chambley
Mount Paran Christian SchoolCarter Smith
Mount Zion HighAlexis Smith
Mount Zion HighJasper Jackson
Mount Zion High SchoolChristian Corn
Mount Zion High SchoolJaycee Martin
North Cobb Christian SchoolHalle Rainwater
North Cobb Christian SchoolMark Watson
North Paulding High SchoolBrittany Broome
North Paulding High SchoolJosh Robinson
Oconee County High SchoolDanielle Della Torre
Oconee County High SchoolChris Johnson
Old Suwanee Christian SchoolAJ King
Peach County High SchoolEboni Steele
Peach County High SchoolKyle Nixon
Pinecrest AcademyCarson Holler
Pinecrest AcademyAshley Triplett
Rabun Gap Nacoochee SchoolSeth Justus
Rabun Gap Nacoochee SchoolAnna Armfield
Randolph-Clay HighChanel  Wilburn
Randolph-Clay HighNoah Mcfather
Sandy Creek High SchoolNathan Brown
St. Vincent’s AcademyMeghan Vierheilig
Stratford AcademyDavid Matlock
Stratford AcademyMonica Montalvo
Swainsboro High SchoolAnsley N. Braddock
Tallulah Falls SchoolMichael Weidner
Tallulah Falls SchoolJulia Nichols
Tattnall County High SchoolEthan Lamb
Tattnall County High SchoolHannah Fox
Treutlen High SchoolTheda Yawn
Treutlen High SchoolTyler Benjamin
Troup County High SchoolChanse Hill
Troup High School AthleticsMadison Kate Jeter
Villa Rica High SchoolAdrian Sanchez
Ware County High SchoolDestinee Johnson
Ware County High SchoolNoah Shepard
West Forsyth High SchoolIsaac May
West Forsyth High SchoolLiz Galarza
West Laurens High SchoolCammy Hatchett
Whitefield AcademyLauren Burke
Whitefield AcademyWilliam Hellier
Winder-Barrow High SchoolBailey Brock

Get The Book

Buy ABW’s complete book on developing character through sports Winning More Than The Game

FREE Tip of the Week Newsletter