Collegiate Athletes to be recognized at 16th Annual Wooden Citizenship Cup Awards

The 16th Annual Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup, an award given to the most outstanding role models among athletes, has announced collegiate honorees for its 2020 award ceremony to be held in Atlanta at a date to be announced. Bob Ryan, the famed sportswriter for the Boston Globe and analyst for ESPN, will serve as the Master of Ceremonies.

Founded by Athletes for a Better World (ABW), a non-profit organization committed to changing the culture of American sports, the Wooden Cup is unique in that it is open to athletes in all high school, collegiate, Olympic, and professional sports. Annual nominations are open to every division and conference in college sports, and to athletes in public and private high schools across the country in partnership with the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.

John Wooden, who won ten national championships during the years 1964-1975 as basketball coach at UCLA, is commonly regarded as the greatest college coach of any sport who ever lived. Universally regarded as one of the finest human beings to ever grace the world of sports, his character, conduct and selfless gifts stand at the highest level by any standard. When Coach Wooden learned about Athletes for a Better World, he gave authorization to attach his name to this annual award, and he attended and addressed the inaugural event in Los Angeles in 2005. In his honor, the Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup is presented to four distinguished athletes, one collegiate, one professional or Olympic, and a male and female from the high school ranks, for their character and leadership both on and off the field.

The 2020 collegiate Wooden Cup recipient will be announced at the awards ceremony. 

Finalists for the collegiate division include:

Denison UniversityClaire Kolff
Florida State UniversityTrent Forrest
Georgia TechBria Matthews
University of DaytonRyan Culhane

The Semifinalists were:

Bemidji State UniversityJared Henning
Bethel UniversityJake Marsh
Central Michigan UniversityAlexandria Robinson
Concordia University IrvineSarah Kretschmar
Ferris StateTravis Russell
Florida Southern CollegeJoe Appio
Georgia CollegeAmber Coy
Houston Baptist UniversityDanielle Wheeler
Nazareth CollegeJake Adams
NC State UniversityJames Smith-Williams
Northeast Mississippi Community CollegeHaley Vick
Oregon StateMikayla Pivec
Peru State CollegeJulia Zurek
Purdue UniversityHannah Melchiorre
Shenandoah UniversitySarah Donley
Southeastern UniversityFelipe Barbosa
The College of WoosterAubri McKoy
Truett McConnell UniversityRachel Barnett
University of DelawareCali Loeffler
University of GeorgiaRodrigo Blankenship
University of MichiganRoland Amarteifio
University of Montana AthleticsDante Olson
University of OklahomaNicole Mendes
University of South CarolinaFrances Harrison
University of the PacificHannah Ketcherside
Vanderbilt UniversityCody Markel
Wayne State UniversityAdrianna Waack

Get The Book

Buy ABW’s complete book on developing character through sports Winning More Than The Game

FREE Tip of the Week Newsletter